I saved a bird!

The honour of the very first post should go to my heroic save of a bird.

This happened sometime in the afternoon on 2-Jun 2010. I was sitting in the living room when I heard a bang, flutter flutter flutter then thud just outside my window. Curious what it was, I opened the door only to find a bird (I wasn’t sure what it was at that time) lying upside down on the floor and breathing very heavily.

I was sure it was going to die but I tried to save it anyway. I picked it up gently and brought it to a shadier place and offered it water to drink. I even smsed my TA for LSM2251 to ask what I should do. Paul said I should give it some fruits. I checked and found that my house did not have any fruits so I gave it some seeds instead. This bird was unappreciative and refused my seeds and water.

Checking on it every 5 minutes, this bird eventually was able to hop around the backyard, as seen in the picture below.

Juvenile Koel hopping around my backyard

Finally, after about 1.5 hours, the bird was finally strong enough and flew away.

I checked with Siva later and found that it was a juvenile koel.

Technically, I didn’t do much, but can’t help smiling to myself that I saved a bird!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I saved a bird!

  1. Ivan says:

    That’s a juvenile Asian glossy starling. Glad to know it survived!

Leave a Reply

