The Red Jungle Fowl

Ever since moving to this new house, I’ve been seeing a few “chickens” in that secondary forest. Wild chicken, I thought, but found it strange that there would be wild chickens in that area.

As fate would have it, the very same week, the LSM2251 lecture I attended mentioned the Red Jungle Fowl. This was said to the wild ancestor of the domestic chicken. Amazing. I also knew that this was considered endangered in Singapore.

An endangered animal in my backyard? Now that was an interesting idea to explore. I learnt that one of the distinguishing factors of the Red Jungle Fowl was its truncated call. I listened out for it and eventually found that that it was really the case for those chickens in my backyard. I was extremely excited about that.

Then on one occasion, 10-April 2010, I was quietly studying in my room when I heard some rustling outside. I looked outside, only to find at least 10 of these Red Jungle Fowls foraging outside.

I tried to take a picture, but it didn’t turn out well.

Red Jungle Fowl in my Backyard?

So that, is the history of my UROPS project.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

